Ghouls and Goodies Modern Hexie Pillow

Ghouls and Goodies Modern Hexie Pillow Halloween Fabric

After depleting my stash will all the covid masks I made all summer, I decided to treat myself to a few monthly & quarterly fabric clubs through the Fat Quarter Shop. One of the clubs ships 4 different mini charm packs per month which is great since I recently became obsessed with English paper piecing and 2.5″ squares are great for 1″ hexies.

Meanwhile I have a client who wanted to make several memorial quilts and pillows to honor her late husband. She sent me pics of the Modern Hexie Pillow she saw on Pinterest. After looking at it & researching it I realized it was a pillow that probably wouldn’t be best as a king sized quilt but might be perfect for the throw pillows she wanted to do. So I bought the pattern and tried my hand at it using the Ghouls and Goodies collection by Stacy Iest Hsu for Moda Fabrics. I used Kona in white for the background and Aurafil in white for the quilting. There was a little bit of a learning curve in figuring the best way to accurately space the hexies but the end result is stunning! Everyone loves the texture. I’m not one to really pay much attention to my Instagram likes or follows but this one had my phone blowing up for days so I looked. Most of my posts get 30-50 likes. This pillow got over 1k. That’s crazy but I’m so glad people love the pillow. Go check out Modern Handcraft’s blog and snag this pattern to try for yourself.

Ghouls and Goodies Modern Hexie Pillow Halloween Fabric
Ghouls and Goodies Modern Hexie Pillow Halloween Fabric
Ghouls and Goodies Modern Hexie Pillow Halloween Fabric

Published by HeatherBrum

~ Quilter ~ Knitter ~ Designer ~ Instructor

Leave a comment